Jurisdictions and the College

All jurisdictions, the Judicial College and the Judicial Commission, are established by specific legislation, which provides for the composition and scope of their organisation. Each jurisdiction is comprised of its judicial members, has its own internal governance mechanisms, and is responsible for establishing how the judicial business of the jurisdiction is managed in accordance with law. 

Supreme Court of Victoria

The Supreme Court of Victoria is the highest court in the State. While the court has existed since 1852, it was established in its present form under section 75 or the Constitution Act 1975 (VIC). The courts governance structures are provided for in the Supreme Court Act 1986 (VIC). It is comprised of the Trial Division and Court of Appeal. 

Head of Jurisdiction: Chief Justice Anne Ferguson
Chief Executive Officer: Michael Carroll
Website: www.supremecourt.vic.gov.au

County Court of Victoria

The County Court of Victoria is the principal trial court of Victoria, and can hear all indictable offences except for treason, and murder and related offences. The court is established by the County Court Act 1958 (VIC).

Head of Jurisdiction: Chief Judge Peter Kidd
Chief Executive Officer: Alison Byrne
Website: www.countycourt.vic.gov.au

Magistrates' Court of Victoria

The Magistrates' Court of Victoria is the busiest court in the State, sitting in more than 50 locations and dealing over 250,000 criminal, civil and family violence cases each year. Although the current Magistrates' Court was established by the Magistrates' Court Act 1989 (VIC), Victoria has had magistrates since 1836.

Head of Jurisdiction: Justice Lisa Hannan, Chief Magistrate
Chief Executive Officer: Simon Hollingsworth
Website: www.mcv.vic.gov.au

Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal

The Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal (VCAT) was established by the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal Act 1998 (VIC), and began operation on 1 July 1998. VCAT is an amalgamation of 15 boards and tribunals and offers a 'one-stop-shop' for dealing with a range of disputes. VCAT comprises four divisions: administrative, civil, human rights, planning and development, and residential tenancies.

Head of Jurisdiction: Justice Edward (Ted) Woodward, President of VCAT
Acting Chief Executive Officer: Fiona Chamberlain
Website: www.vcat.vic.gov.au

Coroners Court of Victoria

The Coroners Court of Victoria was established on 1 November 2009 when new legislation, the Coroners Act 2008 (VIC), came into effect. The court was established as a specialist inquisitorial court, and is responsible for the independent investigation of deaths and fires for the purpose of finding their causes; contributing to the reduction of preventable deaths and fires; and the promotion of public health and safety and the administration of justice.

Head of Jurisdiction: Judge John Cain, State Coroner
Chief Executive Officer: Carolyn Gale
Website: www.coronerscourt.vic.gov.au

Children's Court of Victoria

The Children's Court of Victoria is a specialist court with a Family Division and Criminal Division. The court deals with matters relating to children and young people. A Children's Court has existed in Victoria since 1906, however the present court was established by the Children, Youth and Families Act 2005 (VIC).

Head of Jurisdiction: Judge Jack Vandersteen, President of the Children's Court
Chief Executive Officer: Simon McDonald
Website: www.childrenscourt.vic.gov.au

Judicial College of Victoria

The Judicial College provides education for judges, magistrates and VCAT members by delivering a continuing professional development scheme and a range of online publications and bench books. The Judicial College was established by the Judicial College of Victoria Act 2001 (VIC) and has its own governing Board.
Chief Executive Officer: Samantha Burchell
Website: www.judicialcollege.vic.edu.au

Judicial Commission of Victoria

The Judicial Commission is an independent statutory corporation established under the Judicial Commission of Victoria Act 2016 to investigate complaints about the conduct or capacity of judicial officers or non-judicial VCAT members. The Commission has its own governing Board.

Director: Alexis Eddy
Website: www.judicialcommission.vic.gov.au

This page was last updated: Thursday 1 February 2024 - 4:44pm